Activities, games, Google Slides, Parallel Lines

Parallel & Perpendicular Memory Game with Google Slides

I try to incorporate an activity into every lesson. My goal is to make math not suck and sitting and taking notes is not the way to do it. A colleague found this memory game in an investigation for parallel and perpendicular lines from Wapakonta High School (sorry, I don’t know who to credit.) I love this type of activity but I HATE cutting out paper and having to keep track of the paper from year to year. I played around with Google Slides until I came up with a workable electronic memory game.

I included the instructions in the memory game, delete two cards and if they are a match, keep them deleted. If they don’t match, control z twice and put them back. I made the graphs a background image so they wouldn’t be deleted by accident.

Parallel & Perpendicular Memory Game (2)

2017-10-01_17-42-07

Parallel & Perpendicular Memory Game

It was fun and it was great practice for identifying parallel and perpendicular from a slope. A few areas of improvement from the students, make the graphs bigger and make the cards images because they kept clicking on the ? and deleting it instead.

Here’s a link to the slide. If you are interested in creating your own, click over to Infinitely Teaching for the tutorial.

3 thoughts on “Parallel & Perpendicular Memory Game with Google Slides”

Leave a comment